top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmber Weigand-Buckley

CHRISTINE CAINE: A Heart for Enslaved Children


Australian minister Christine Caine of Hillsong Church in Sydney has a heart for reaching the lost, serving the local church, and championing the cause of justice. Led by Jesus’ last command to, “Go therefore and make disciples of all nations” (Matthew 28:19, NRSV), Caine travels the world teaching the gospel and inspiring her audiences to connect with their God-given purpose and potential.

Caine and her husband, Nick, are the founders of The A21 Campaign, an anti-human-trafficking organization with the ambition of abolishing slavery in the 21st century. Caine spoke recently with OnCourse editor Amber Weigand-Buckley.

evangel: You have talked a lot about life’s interruptions and how they translate into seasons of transformation. Tell me how that has impacted you recently not only as a follower of Christ, but as a mother.

CHRISTINE CAINE: Being a mother is my greatest joy! And I am constantly in awe of how God uses my children to remind me of the simplest, yet most impacting truth.

I will never forget when my daughter Sophia and I were shopping at a Walmart. We love America for your Walmarts! It’s the only place I know of where I can get a casserole and a flat-screen TV at 3 a.m. on any day. Sophie wanted a flashlight and had the perfect one picked out. Unfortunately, Walmart’s florescent lighting doesn’t make for the best conditions to test out a flashlight.

At the register, she was so excited to go home and try out her new little gadget. She said, “Come on, Mum! Let’s go find some darkness.” I was astounded by the words that just came out of her mouth as I realized the impact they would have if Christians truly lived by them. Instead of hiding from the darkness in places of light, we are called to go into the darkness and be the light. It’s pure joy as a mother to learn from my children!

evangel: You have made it your mission to respond to human trafficking in this generation. How are you trying to make a difference as one person? Is it even possible?

CAINE: God has equipped each person with unique gifts, talents and abilities in order to reach our generation. Everyone has a part to play and every person can make a difference. It is important not to devalue what God has placed in your hand, but rather to seek Him about how to step out and take action.

We began The A21 Campaign, and I believe we will continue to see more girls rescued, and their lives will be a testimony to the truth that God is a redeemer, restorer and rebuilder of destinies, hopes and dreams. It is my prayer these girls will not only fulfill all God has for them for their futures, but that they will actually reach out to others who are enslaved and help them to find freedom and hope in Christ as well.

It really does all start with one. And if we can make a difference in the life of one person, it is all worth it.

evangel: As the mother of two girls, what nugget of mom-to-daughter advice would you want them to incorporate into their lives?

CAINE: As a mother, one of my greatest desires is that my daughters will grow up passionately in love with Jesus, His Word, and the Church, and desire to fulfill the purpose for which He has placed them on the planet: to be world changers!


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page